The historic name of the district was not Temple Bar but St. Andrews Parish. It was a suburb of medieval (Anglo-Norman) Dublin, located outside the city walls. It fell into disuse at the beginning of the 14th century because the land was exposed to attacks by the native Irish. The land was redeveloped again in the 17th century, creating gardens for the houses of wealthy English families.
The Vikings settled here as far back as 795. Remains of their settlement’s fortifications can still be seen at Dublin Castle today.
Many sources agree that Temple Bar Street got its name from the Temple family. More Specifically, Sir William Temple (provost of Trinity College from 1609 – 1672), whose house and gardens were located there in the early 17th century. However, given the existence of a stories district of the same name in London, it seems that the new Temple Bar street of Dublin must have been a nod to its older and more famous cousin.
Today, you will find Temple Bar thriving. The cobbled streets and original architecture still remain. The streets are bustling with tourists and Dubliners browse through street fairs and listen to local artists performing on the side steps. At night Temple Bar simply comes alive. The Quays bar is full of locals and tourists all enjoying the authentic Irish experience.